RSS Feed

Ricotta red sauce

Posted on

I said in a previous post that I love pasta and eat it a few times a week. There’s just something about the perfect carby bite that comes in tons of fun little shapes: farfalle (bowties), penne rigate, linguine and radiatore are some of my favorites. Oh, and shells. I love me some shells—small, medium and the large kind that you get to stuff with all kinds of fillings. Yum. You’ll also never catch me saying no to plain ol’ spaghetti either, especially angel hair. Okay, you get it. I love pasta.

Variety.

Today, I thought I’d show you some of the sauces I use to dress up my favorite meal component. Pioneer Woman’s  stuffed shells are super delicious, but they’re not exactly cheap or fast. But for a special dinner (like Christmas Eve in my house), they’re a great idea. On the other hand, this creamy zucchini orechiette is definitely quick and cheap, and will have your roommates stealing bites while your back is turned. And this. This macaroni and cheese is just wonderful. It’s a one-pot recipe, so there are almost no dishes (and I usually eat out of the pot too). You cook the pasta IN THE MILK, which makes a sauce of the milk and the pasta starch. Then you stir in so, so, SO much cheese. Yuuuuuuuum.

For last night’s dinner, I decided fancy-up some basic red sauce. I added green bell pepper to the regular onion and garlic and stirred in some ricotta cheese at the end. I served it over some spaghetti, and it was just perfect.

Ricotta Red Sauce

¼ large onion

3 cloves of garlic

1 green bell pepper

14.5 oz fire-roasted diced tomatoes

8 oz tomato sauce

2 tbsp ricotta cheese

Ingredients, with Friends on in the background.

Serves 2 with some leftovers. (And if you share with your fabulous roommate, she just might do the dishes!)

Saute the onion and garlic over med heat until golden. Add the green peppers, and just stir them around a minute (they will finish cooking while the sauce simmers.)

Add the diced tomatoes and the tomato sauce. Simmer the sauce over low heat for about 10 minutes. It’ll thicken up a little bit.

Looks like Christmas!

In the meantime, boil whatever pasta you’re using. When the pasta is about 1 minute from being done, stir the ricotta into the sauce. It’ll turn a pretty orange color! Serve over the pasta and eat.

Leave a Reply

